← All transactions
Transaction
The Carbon Removers - UBS and Carbonaires carbon finance transaction (Scottish whisky distilleries)
Terms
- Announced
- 14 Nov 2024
- Instrument
- Debt · Pre-purchaseCredits paid for before they are delivered, which finances the project.
- Amount
- Undisclosed
- Source
- carbonaires.com
Parties
- Project developer
- The Carbon Removers
- Country
- United Kingdom
- Capital providers
Capital providers and the amount counted for each Party Role Amount Basis UBSAlso arranger Investor Undisclosed No value disclosed Pakua Capital Investor Undisclosed No value disclosed - Arranged by
Arrangers and what each arranged Party Role Arranged Basis UBS Arranger Not credited No figure recorded Carbonaires Arranger Not credited No figure recorded
Carbon
- Pathway
- BECCS
- Project type as recorded
- Four Nimmons900 carbon sequestration units at Scottish whisky distilleries
- Backed by offtakes from
What happened
- Carbonaires announced on 14 November 2024 that it had completed a first-of-a-kind carbon finance transaction with UBS and The Carbon Removers; The Carbon Removers' own page of 15 November says the finance agreement was signed. UBS agreed to fund, in two tranches, the procurement of four Nimmons900 carbon sequestration units to be installed at several Scottish whisky distilleries, and receives a share of the carbon dioxide removal credits under an Investment and Carbon Credit Offtake Agreement. The units capture biogenic CO2 from fermentation, stored initially in cement and later injected into former oil wells or other permanent storage; credits are verified on Puro.earth. Carbonaires and UBS structured the offering, which UBS makes available to professional investors as a product whose returns come from the sale of the credits, settled on Carbonplace; Pakua Capital, a multigenerational family office, is named as a participant, facilitated by UBS. The amount is not disclosed. Carbonaires' analysis counts about 134,000 removal credits over several years; Clyde & Co gives a project lifetime of 18 years with 599,280 tCO2e projected and nearly 580,000 Puro.earth-verified credits, and the two figures are not reconciled in any source.
Kumo note
- - UBS funds the purchase of four carbon sequestration units for Scottish whisky distilleries in two tranches and takes a share of the resulting removal credits, so its capital moves before the credits are delivered. - UBS and Carbonaires also structured a product for professional investors whose returns come from the sale of the credits, settled on the Carbonplace platform with credits verified on Puro.earth; the amount is not disclosed.
Know more about this transaction?
Not yet known: deal size.
Tell us what is missing or wrong, and where you read it.
Next step
Capital Connections
Meet the other side of deals like these.
Kumo introduces assessed projects to capital providers whose mandate fits, whichever side you are on.
Get started
Free to explore. No card required.
Terminal
Compare the transactions behind these figures.
Pricing, structures and comparables across Kumo's carbon finance dataset.
Explore the Terminal